Who’s in – 2015 Hall of Fame inductees revealed

Hall of FameFollowing months of nominations and careful deliberations, the five inductees into the 2015 Neath Rugby Supporters Club have been chosen.

The five Neath greats will be inducted into the hall at a special celebration evening on Friday 15th May.

The chosen five are (in no particular order):

Rees Stephens
Wales international Rees Stephens won 32 caps for Wales in the second row between 1947 -1957He won his first cap against England in January 1947 and went on to win two caps for the British Lions on their tour to Australia in 1952, with a shoulder injury preventing him from facing New Zealand on the same trip.

Martyn Davies
Martyn Davies captained Neath during the club’s centenary year of 1971/72.  The scrum half capped a memorable season by leading the team to victory in the first Welsh cup final at the National Stadium in Cardiff.  Martyn made 511 appearances for Neath.  Following retirement in 1977, Martyn went on to coach the club and serve on the management committee.

Ron Waldron
Prop forward Ron Waldron won four caps for Wales in 1975, but it as a coach during the club’s golden era for which is best remembered.  Working in tandem with 2014 Hall of Famer, Brian Thomas, Ron led the club to unparalleled success.   His spell in charge saw Neath become one of the most sucessful and feared club sides in Europe and oversaw the emergence of some of the club’s greatest players.

Kevin Phillips
Kevin Phillips was the captain of Neath’s all conquering team of the late 1980s and early 1990s.  The hooker helped build Neath into one of the most successful teams in the land and led a pack that put fear into the hearts of anyone who had the misfortune of coming up against them.  He led the club to two cup final victories and the inaugural Welsh league championship in 1991.

Gareth Llewellyn
Gareth Llewellyn is Wales’ most capped lock forward.  He first came to prominence during in 1989 when a comanding performance in Neath’s game against New Zealand resulted in him winning his first cap just a few weeks later.  Gareth went on to captain the club for many seasons, including leading the team to the league championship in 1996.  Playing alongside brother Glyn, the Llewellyn brothers racked up 100 appearances for Wales!!

These five players will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Friday 15th May, where they (or their representatives) will be awarded with their commemorative caps.

The evening will also see Shane Williams presented with his 2014 cap.  BBC Scrum V’s Rick O’Shea will be the guest speaker.

Tickets for the evening will be on sale at the Neath v Aberavon match on Bank Holiday Monday, 6th April.  Tickets cost £7.50 for supporters club members and £12.50 for non-members.

The Hall of Fame is sponsored by R&SD Risk Management

This entry was posted in Event, Hall of Fame and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.